Five Civilized Tribes

The term "Five 'Civilized' Tribes" derives from the colonial and early federal period. It refers to five Native American nations—the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek (Muscogee), and Seminole. These are the first five tribes that Anglo-European settlers generally considered to be "civilized" according to their own world view, namely because these five tribes adopted attributes of the colonists' culture.For example, Christianity, centralized governments, literacy, market participation, written constitutions, intermarriage with white Americans, and plantation slavery practices developed within these nations. The Five "Civilized" Tribes tended to maintain stable political relations.

Full article...



American History

Political History

Early and Antebellum America (1789-1860)

American Indian History

Spread the Word